General Skilled Category

The General Skilled Migration Category is for people who have skills in particular occupations required in Australia. Applicants must be over 18 and under 50 years of age, with good English language ability and recent skilled work experience unless they recently completed an eligible Australian qualification.
Applicants must also have skills and qualifications for an occupation listed on Australia’s Skilled Occupation List (SOL) or Consolidated Skilled Occupation List (CSOL).

Visa Options

There is a range of visa options under the General Skilled Migration Program for skilled workers who want to live in Australia. These include options for skilled people applying as an independent migrant as well as those sponsored by a relative, or nominated by a State or Territory government.

We will cover only the most commonly applied visas under the General Skilled Migration Program.
They are as follows:

Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189)

A permanent visa for people with skills in demand in the Australian labour market. Applicants are not sponsored and must pass a points test.

Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)

A permanent visa for people unable to meet the Skilled – Independent pass mark. Applicants must be nominated by a participating State or Territory government. Applicants receive points for the nomination.

Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 489)

A four (4) year provisional visa for people who need additional points by being nominated or sponsored. Applicants must be either sponsored by an eligible relative living in a designated area of Australia or nominated by a participating state/territory government. After living for two (2) years and working for at least one (1) year in a Specified Regional Area, applicants can apply for a permanent visa.