The Department Of Immigration, Refugees And Citizenship Canada (IRCC)

Together with Canada’s provincial governing bodies, this department uses the NOC to monitor the suitability of potential workforce applicants. NOC 2016 is currently used in these cases.

The Labor market Impact Assessment is a mandatory test taken in the Temporary Foreign Worker Program (TFWP). Put simply; the LMIA test is meant to weigh the impact of potential employees on the labor market and local economy. A foreigner interested in such a position can apply for citizenship by taking the test and presenting work permit applications to the IRCC for consideration.

The Implementation Process

The NOC system is used in various immigration programs, so full implementation of the new system may take a while. The Canadian government informed a new outlet that it intends to let the new system work its way into effect by the fall of 2022. The government spokesperson also informed the public that stakeholders needed a few months to warm up to the new system. It is essential to maintain consistency in the work permit application process, so the government gives ample time for a uniform implementation of the new NOC system.

What Is New About The NOC 2021 System

The government has come up with a more effective TEER system that replaces the NOC skill levels mentioned before. While the old NOC system groups jobs based on the skill type required for the job, the new system will categorize jobs based on the following criteria

  • Training
  • Education
  • Experience
  • Responsibility

The current system has categorized skillsets under A, B, C, and D categories. NOC 2021 seeks to do away with this classification system by introducing a new six-category system. The TEER system will classify skill levels into 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5.

TEER 0 will comprise of management occupations

TEER 1 is expected to comprise jobs that require a degree (i.e., a master’s, doctorate, or bachelor’s). This category will also require applicants to have several years of experience in their area of expertise.

TEER 2 This category has been broadened to cover more variables, including:

  • The applicant has to have completed a post-secondary education program of two to three years at a community college, CEGEP, or an institute of technology.
  • Applicants can also qualify if they have trained for two to five years as an apprentice.
  • Experience with supervisory roles
  • Experience in roles with safety responsibilities such as firefighters

TEER 3 Just like TEER 2, this group has a broad application area, including;

  • Completing post-secondary education in a certified community college
  • Post-secondary education can also be from CEGEP or apprenticeship for less than two years.
  • Applicants who studied at an institute of technology also stand a chance of getting certified.
  • In terms of experience, applicants with more than six months of training, training courses in combination with a secondary school education qualify

TEER 4 to qualify for this TEER group, applicants have to finish their secondary school education and have proof of several weeks’ experience at a job. Applicants with several years’ experience can also qualify for this group.

TEER 5 This group does not require any formal education. The program may require the applicant to demonstrate a basic understanding of the occupation.


The new NOC system will focus on the education and experience best compatible with a given occupation. The government expects this system to be less confusing compared to the older NOC system. Once the new system is in effect, the 516 listed occupations are expected to be easier to fill. Applicants can also expect a seemingly suitable placement since the TEER system has more detailed descriptions. We can expect to see new occupations pop up as different fields emerge and expand. If you are interested in knowing how your old NOC compares to NOC 2021, you can do so by searching online.

Pages: 1 2